Flexing My Jesus Muscle

Many thanks to those of you who have generously donated to Trinity Fitness Riverside for our annual fundraising challenge! Donations like yours ensure that Trinity Fitness is available to anyone who is willing to come, no matter their financial situation.  If you’d like to join the kind people making tax-deductible donations, please click here.

So, I know what you might be thinking: What in the world does Jesus have to do with working out? Jesus doesn’t care how big your biceps are. Burpees are not biblical.

And you’re right about that. You will never read in the Bible about the disciples throwing themselves on the floor, pushing themselves back up, and jumping for joy.

But I think Jesus has two things to do with working out, so I’d like to tell you about them, in case you’re still on the fence about donating to this organization.

One is pretty simple: Your body is a temple. You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20). You are worth taking care of because your body is the dwelling place of the holy spirit. You shouldn’t trash it, nor should you neglect it. You will not get another in this life.

IMG_3935

The other is what I think of as flexing my Jesus muscle. I think sometimes, for many people (myself included), learning to trust Jesus is such a huge leap. I think: the things that I have in my life, I did that. If I want something, I need to make it happen. I think: I am in control here. And that control, that feeling of being the captain of my own ship– that’s hard to relinquish. But then when hard or unexpected things happen in life, and the ship I’m steering starts to sink, life looks very bleak. Not only am I disappointed in the events that have occurred, but my very sense of myself (as someone who can control the world around me) is lost.

IMG_5417

When I go to Trinity Fitness, though, I’m presented with a workout that almost without fail exceeds my actual abilities. I’m not an elite athlete, ‘case you wondered. But it’s not about that. It’s about taking a leap. It’s about learning to trust in the strength of the Lord when I feel weak. It’s about creating a habit of trust– working the Jesus muscle, and watching it grow stronger. There have been times I’ve walked in the door of the gym, checked out the workout on the board, and wanted to drive myself right back home and go back to bed. But instead I sit down and listen to a devotion from one of our trainers, we pray, and then we get started. Whether I finish or not, whether I set a personal record or not, how many rounds I complete– those are great to know, but the real test is what I do when things get hard. At Trinity Fitness, when things get hard, there is a community of people around reminding me to call on Jesus in difficulty.

FullSizeRender

What can I say? I forget a lot.

IMG_3571

When I get there and see 50 wall balls on the board, please understand that I question my sanity.

By now I’m sure you realize that I am no theologian. I’m not a scientist either. But I do understand that in order to get stronger, I need to put my body to the test. After having been stressed, muscles grow stronger. In life, it’s the same. Faith is tested and then grows stronger. Trinity Fitness puts those two ideas together for me and for anyone who makes the choice to show up.

Now I’ll make one final point and let you get back to cat memes.

Sometimes in life, we need to be reminded of our strength.  But more often, we need to be reminded of our weakness. Because when we understand our weakness, we can learn to depend on the one who is strong.

IMG_5477

This is me understanding my weakness, 75 push-ups in.

Even if we need to re-learn that lesson three times a week at 5:30 in the morning.

Leave a Reply

