Too School for Cool

IMG_7353

Mary Bullock started Kindergarten today! Doesn’t she look excited about this? I don’t know how excited she is, actually. We’ve been doing school on and off all summer, so I’m sure this doesn’t seem too different to her than the usual. Tomorrow is the BIG DAY in her mind because the boys go back to preschool and we start Classical Conversations. Then we have a Mommy + Daughter date at Cozy Tea on Wednesday. This is shameless pandering on my part, make no mistake.

The thing is, we didn’t decide not to send Mary Bullock to school because we thought she would struggle, or because she wouldn’t like it or adjust to it, or anything like that. Mary Bullock is much like both of her parents in that she loves school. So I’m not deluding myself into thinking that there won’t be some push back when she realizes that most of her friends are going to traditional schools all day while she will be with me. So my plan is to fill up her memory bank with all the perks of homeschooling so that when that push back comes, traditional school won’t seem like a mythical happy place with which our kitchen table cannot compete.

IMG_7352

Here is what I want you to know about this situation: I never imagined that homeschooling would be our life. On the contrary, I’ve spent the last five years dreaming of the day I got my kids in school and could live a life of leisure. Tennis on Thursdays? Yes, please. Solo grocery trips? Why, yes! Mid-morning hair cut? Sure thing. So it was just as much a surprise to me as it was to anyone that homeschooling was such an obvious choice for us this year. Of course, I never imagined that I’d be a stay-at-home mom, either. My imagination is untrustworthy, obviously.

We chose to homeschool for a whole host of reasons that I can never adequately articulate, but the bottom line is that none of our other choices felt right for our family. And by that I mean, our whole family. It wasn’t our last resort– in fact, I made the decision before I finished touring schools. I haven’t for a second dreaded it; I’m actually excited about it. Maybe more excited than my pupil. But I’d also be remiss if I didn’t admit that I’ve wanted to throw up for most of the day week. Hopefully that will go away soon. Someone tell me that it will.

IMG_7356

I don’t know how all this will go– maybe we’ll hate it. But at the very least, I know she won’t get dumber staying at home this year. But maybe, just maybe, if we’re patient and flexible, and if we listen more than we talk, and cuddle more than we fight, then by the grace of God, we’ll figure it out.

IMG_7306

And if not, then at least we tried.

3 thoughts on “Too School for Cool

Leave a Reply

